As you may have heard, Google is shutting down consumer Google+ profiles this year. While most companies probably haven’t been prioritizing Google+ as a marketing channel in the past few years, many businesses do have profiles that were made years ago when there was potential for it to be a strong contender against social giants like Facebook and Twitter.
What does the Google+ shutdown mean for you?
If you manage any G+ accounts, personal or business, they will be officially shut down on April 2, 2019. Content will be deleted, including photos, videos and pages. If you have uploaded any content to your Google Plus account, you can download and save it before April. Note that this only applies to photos and videos that were uploaded to G+; items uploaded to Google Photos will remain untouched.
Downloading your Google+ data and content
Google is making it easy for you to download everything from your G+ account if you’d like to keep it. You can download an archive of all your data, including your Google+ Circles, Communities, Streams, +1s, photos and videos. If you don’t want all of this, you can download individual categories of content instead. The most important thing to note is that you need to do this before April 2019, as everything will start getting deleted at that time.
Additional impact of Google+ shutdown for users
Many people are wondering whether Google+ closing down will affect their other Google accounts, like Gmail, Google Drive and Google Hangouts. The answer is no, the Google+ shutdown will not impact your other personal Google accounts.
However, if you used Google+ to sign into sites and apps, you will no longer be able to do so. Some might be replaced by a Google Sign-In button, in which case you can still log in using your Google account.
Google+’s comment functionality will be removed from all websites by March 7, 2019. All Google+ comments on websites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019.
What should businesses do about the Google+ shutdown?
Beyond downloading the content and data that you’re interested in saving, if you or your company had an active Google+ presence, it may be worthwhile for you to inform your followers of the best ways to stay in touch after the shutdown is complete. Writing a blog post inviting them to follow you on other social channels or subscribe to your email list can be an effective way of reaching your audience.
Are any Google+ accounts remaining active?
While all consumer accounts will be closed, Google will instead be shifting their focus toward Google+ as an enterprise tool. Companies that use G-Suite for business tools and apps like Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Drive and more will still have access to Google+ for their G-Suite accounts.
For businesses that are already using G-Suite, Google+ can be an effective communication tool across teams, giving employees a way to have internal discussions on a secure corporate social network. In the coming months, Google will be rolling out additional features to make this enterprise tool more robust and user-friendly.
While consumer Google+ accounts are being closed starting April 2, the sheer volume of content to be deleted means that it will take awhile for content to be removed entirely. So, don’t be surprised if you’re still seeing Google+ content after this date. To be safe, however, we recommend downloading all the content and data you want to keep as soon as possible. April is just around the corner!
Now that you have one less social channel to worry about, it’s time to double down on your 2019 online marketing strategy. Contact NZDMI today!